Saturday, November 18th, 2017

Rockingham Pro Qualifying Schedule Adjusted

Published on November 4, 2010 by   ·   No Comments


Pro qualifying for this weekend’s Lee’s Performance Fall Bike Nationals, the season finale of the Mickey Thompson Performance Tires MIRock Superbike Series—the nation’s largest all-motorcycle drag racing series—has been adjusted to give competitors more track time during raceday conditions. “In conversations with racers this week, a concern has risen that the posted schedule for Saturday would put the pros on the track too late on Saturday night,” said Rockingham Dragway owner Steve Earwood. “The adjusted schedule coincides with Sunday’s eliminations, which begin at noon.”

Qualifying for Orient Express Pro Street, HTP Performance Real Street, House of Speed Crazy 8’s and 5.60 will now be Saturday at 12 noon, 2 pm, 4 pm and 6 pm. This schedule moves up each session by two hours.

Motorcycle drag racing fans will get a no-cost bonus this weekend when newly-crowned Real Street champ Jeremy Teasley lines his nitrous Kawasaki ZX14 against the turbo Suzuki Hayabusa of Johnny “Turbo” Dobrin to determine the winner of the rain-delayed Fast by Gast event from last month at Maryland International Raceway. Although Teasley ran away with the series title this season, Dobrin will choose his lane for the final on the strength of his 8.012 second elapsed time in the semis. Teasley won his semi with an 8.283. Dobrin runner-upped to local hero Caleb McDougald in The Rock’s Schnitz Summer Sizzler event in August, but had quick time with a 7.836 in qualifying.

Rider standings after seven of eight races in the 2010 Mickey Thompson Performance Tires MiRock Superbike Series that concludes Sunday at Rockingham Dragway:

ORIENT EXPRESS PRO STREET – 1. Rodney Williford, Rougemont, N.C., Suzuki, 596; 2. Jeremey Teasley, Orient, Ohio, Kawasaki, 497; 3. Dimey Eddinger, Winston-Salem, N.C., Suzuki, 446; 4. Ricky Wood, Sims, N.C., Suzuki, 412; 5. Curtis McDougald, Lillington, N.C., Suzuki, 407; 6. Mike Slowe, Croydon, Pa., Suzuki,  404; 7. Vincent Demito, Plymouth Meeting, Pa., Suzuki, 353; 8. Brandon Tyree, Salem, Va., Suzuki, 341; 9. Kenneth Edwards, Sebring, Fla., Suzuki, 313; 10. Sean Walsh, Blue Point, N.Y., Suzuki, 301.

HTP PERFORMANCE REAL STREET – 1. (title clinched) Jeremey Teasley, Orient, Ohio, Kawasaki, 775; 2. Rickey Gadson, Hammonton, N.J., Kawasaki, 481; 3. Darion Payne, Ft. Washington, Md., Suzuki, 429; 4. Mark Billiter, North Augusta, S.C., Kawasaki, 418; 5. Tie, Stephen Reynolds, Winston-Salem, N.C., Suzuki, and Edward Murphy, Bridgeport, Conn., Suzuki, 343 each; 7. Coby Adams, Mooresville, N.C., Kawasaki, 340; 8. Sherrell Blake, Delmar, Md., Suzuki, 338; 9. Ashon Dickerson, Newark, N.J., Suzuki, 335; 10. Michael Glace, Pottstown, Pa., Suzuki, 303.

FBR SHOP QUICK 32 – 1. Boo Brown, Potomac Falls, Md., Suzuki, 577; 2. Jim Shifflett, Waynesboro, Va., Suzuki, 497; 3. Jay Windsor, Felton, Del., Koenig, 375; 4. Kenny Cornell, Manassas, Va., Kawasaki, 366; 5. Chris Clontz, Mechanicsville, Md., Suzuki, 355; 6. Michael Rankin, Staunton, Va., Suzuki, 286; 7. Andy Baumbach, Fairfax Station, Va., Kawasaki, 275; 8. Steve Shriver, Glen Burnie, Md., Kawasaki, 244; 9. Shayne Proctor, Indian Head, Md., Kawasaki, 224; 10. Leslie Thomas, Frederick, Md., Suzuki, 213.

HOUSE OF SPEED CRAZY 8’s – 1. Eddie Chapman, Pocomoke, Md., Suzuki, 467; 2. Ray Morris, Aiken, S.C., Suzuki, 427; 3. Rickey Gadson, Hammonton, N.J., Kawasaki, 416; 4. Jeremey Teasley, Orient, Ohio, Suzuki, 387; 5. Tie, Steve Dumas, Pageland, S.C., Suzuki, and Barry Pryer, Virginia Beach, Va., Suzuki, 307 each; 7. Keith Thompson, Upper Marlboro, Md., Suzuki, 265; 8. Robert Johnson, Sandston, Va., Suzuki, 253; 9. D.J. Lockwood, Berlin, Md., Kawasaki, 245; 10. Louis Green, NA, Suzuki, 233.

MOTORCYCLETIREOUTLET.NET 5.60 – 1. Jim Shifflett, Waynesboro, Va., Suzuki, 45; 2. George Jones, Hephzibah, Ga., Kawasaki, 44; 3. Tie, Shayne Proctor, Indian Head, Md., Kawasaki, Rodney Gantt, Hephzibah, Ga., Kawasaki, and Michael Rankin, Staunton, Va., Suzuki, 34 each; 6. John Loney, Dalzell, S.C., Kawasaki, 30; 7. Jason Herron, Lexington, S.C., Suzuki, 27; 8. Curtis Griggs, Monroe, N.C., Kawasaki, 26; 9. Tie, Jerarra Martin, Oxford, Ga., Suzuki, and Daniel Joyce, Pffaftown, N.C., Kawasaki, 24 each.




Tags: ,

Readers Comments (0)

Related Stories