Tuesday, December 12th, 2017

NHRA Countdown Playoffs Change for 2018

Published on September 28, 2017 by   ·   No Comments


The complexion of the 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship will take a new form as four of the national events will change dates for the upcoming season.


The Dodge NHRA Nationals will kick off the six-race playoff stretch at historic Maple Grove Raceway on Sept. 13-16. The scenic facility located outside of Philadelphia has long been a hot bed of racing and often produces national record performances. 


The series will move to St. Louis on Sept. 21-23 for the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals for the next event in the Countdown. Located in the shadow of the St. Louis Arch the event will be an integral stop on the tour. 

Jerry Savoie

2016 champion Jerry Savoie


Racers pursuing a world championship will then compete at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals at the Texas Motorplex on Oct. 4-7. The all-concrete racing surface has produced champions as a host of NHRA events for over 30 years.


zMAX Dragway will host the NHRA Carolina Nationals on Oct. 12-14 at one of the premiere facilities in the country. The popularity of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will be on display as the points battles tighten up nearing the end of the season. 


The penultimate race in the Countdown will be the NHRA Toyota Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Oct. 28-28. The 2018 season will conclude and champions will be crowned at the Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona on Nov. 8-11. 


A full season schedule can be found on NHRA.com and the new race dates are below.


2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship

Sept. 13-16       Dodge NHRA Nationals                 Reading, Pa.

Sept. 21-23       AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals    St. Louis

Oct. 4-7            AAA Texas NHRA Fall Nationals             Dallas

Oct. 12-14        NHRA Carolina Nationals                  Charlotte, N.C.

Oct. 25-28        NHRA Toyota Nationals                   Las Vegas

Nov. 8-11         Auto Club NHRA Finals                Pomona, Calif.


NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates four racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and Twitter.




Tags: ,

Readers Comments (0)

Related Stories